Select Page

Effective January 1, 2021, it will be illegal to hold a handheld personal communications device (your smartphone or cell phone) while driving a moving motor vehicle on Virginia highways. This new law is one of many ways the state is buckling down on distracted driving.

While driving, it will be illegal to hold a mobile device in your hand while doing some activities, such as:

• Dial a phone number
• Send a text message
• Update/browse social media
• Video conference
• Shop online
• Watch movies
• Check the weather
• And more.

Breaking the Law will cost you! A person who violates 46.2-818.2 is subject to a fine of $125 for the first offense and $250 for the second and subsequent offenses.

Farmville, Virginia
Town of Farmville, Virginia
Share This